Page 2 of 2
Posted: Thu May 19, 2005 9:06 am
by Rudar Dimble
[QUOTE=Rob-hin]Yes, but define 'familiar with'.
I suppose the correct interpretation could be that you saw one once.[/QUOTE]
I agree

Posted: Thu May 19, 2005 3:16 pm
by jopperm2
I always houseruled that if you wan to change into a new animal that you have never changed into before, you had to make a knowledge (nature) check modified by the animal's distance from your home terrain, it's obscurity, your travel through it's domain, etc. For the Polar bear, say, by the druid who had never left the temperate forest you would be looking at like a DC 30. I might cut him some slack with a 25 if he had been other types of bears since they are similar.
Posted: Fri May 20, 2005 12:44 am
by Noghri
I like your houserule Jopperm2. I find it quite logical that if a druid who comes from a thick forest and never seen a sea, he cannot easily transform into a shark. And since I am the DM in the quest Rob-hin wants to play a druid, I will try to use this rule.
Posted: Fri May 20, 2005 3:31 am
by Rob-hin
Thanks alot Jopper.
Just kidding, good rule!
Posted: Fri May 20, 2005 8:41 am
by Mr.Waesel
Rob, remember than when in WS you gain the animal type, meaning you can cast nature's favor, enlarge anmial, etc. on yourself.
Posted: Fri May 20, 2005 8:56 am
by Rob-hin
What book is that in?
I can't find it.
Is it the same as enlarge person? (level 1 and effects)
Posted: Fri May 20, 2005 10:16 am
by jopperm2
Actually Rob, it's in your favor! It means that you have a chance to change into an animal you aren't particularly familiar with just because you may have heard about it or are really smart. BTW, I love your blues brothers av!
Posted: Sat May 21, 2005 2:25 pm
by Mr.Waesel
[QUOTE=Rob-hin]Yes, but define 'familiar with'.
I suppose the correct interpretation could be that you saw one once.[/QUOTE]
Familiar with = having researched or fought the creature in question. It's in there somewhere.
Which means that a druid who keeps his Knowledge: Nature check maxxed can totally change into any animal he wants.
Posted: Sun May 29, 2005 9:56 am
by Televolt
I have other question about wild shape...
When you shape to an animal using the ordinary wild shape, you gains all physical hability of the animal (such as str, dex, con, the movments habilities and so on...). You also gains the extraordinary habilities of that animal, but dont gain the supernatural nor spell-like habilities...
When you get the prestige Shifter (from The Master of the Wild complement book) you use the Greater Wild Shape instead of the normal Wild shape.
I would like to know if with this Greater Wild Shape, a character who shape to a creature gains the supernatural habilities and spell-like habilities of the creature!
I'm not sure about that...

Posted: Sun May 29, 2005 10:03 am
by Rob-hin
I don't think so.
Posted: Sun May 29, 2005 10:26 am
by Magrus
It says in the shifter class description that Greater Wild Shape works the same as Wild shape except in regards to a few things (Equipment may change as well, more types of creatures you can transform into, never a creature with more HD that your character). Nothing on special abilities.
Does that mean if you become a Mind Flayer you can't use it's psionic blast, or a vampire it's regeneration and such? If so, you essentially adopt a class that lets you have really good costumes.

Posted: Sun May 29, 2005 11:16 am
by Televolt
Yeah... thanks for help...

Posted: Sun May 29, 2005 2:44 pm
by Mr.Waesel
nevermind