Page 1 of 2

Wildshape hitpoints

Posted: Sun May 15, 2005 5:24 am
by Rob-hin
If a druid has 2 or more wild shapes per day, how does this work with hitpoints?

Say that I have 40 hp and drop to 30, then I shapechange into an animal.
IMO, then I have the full hp of the animal.

But if the beast for is injured and goes from 20 to 10 hp and I change back to my human form. Later, I shift again (no healing inbetween) to an animal form. Does this second animal form have full hp again?

Posted: Sun May 15, 2005 10:02 am
by Demortis
i always thought it worked like polymorph. but i may be mistaken

Posted: Sun May 15, 2005 3:56 pm
by Rob-hin
So it's concidered a full night hp, 2x your level, per change and changing back doesn't count.

Naturally, also count the additional (if any) CON modifier points.

Posted: Mon May 16, 2005 5:28 pm
by Demortis
yea, once per change. if you have the ablity to change multiple times it only happens on the first i think. but yes its like a full days rest. (i think dont quote me on it)

Posted: Tue May 17, 2005 2:56 am
by Rob-hin
It's cleared up, thanks. :)

Posted: Tue May 17, 2005 1:11 pm
by thekyngdoms
Rob-hin wrote:It's cleared up, thanks. :)
*cough*

That's not quite my reading of it. I don't see anywhere where it says that regaining hit points can only happens once per day. Polymorph says:
Upon changing, the subject regains lost hit points as if it had rested for the night...
So, my reading would be that this occurs for every wild shape. And every time you change, you regain hit points just as if you'd rested for the night.

Posted: Tue May 17, 2005 3:09 pm
by jopperm2
That's how I read it too. In effect you can partially "rebuild" yourself.

Posted: Tue May 17, 2005 3:56 pm
by Rob-hin
Yes, me too.
I understand it, but I was feeling a bit woozie when I posted... when looking back I don't see why I did. :rolleyes: :)

Posted: Wed May 18, 2005 2:24 pm
by Aegis
I thought any extra hitpoints gained where because of any CON adjustments that occured along with the transformation. Otherwise, would it not be too abusible an ability, acting essentially the same as healing spells?

Posted: Wed May 18, 2005 2:40 pm
by Mr.Waesel
It works as thekyngdoms says. You heal after every use of WS.

Aegis: Only if you think healing 2*level in HP is abusable.

Posted: Wed May 18, 2005 2:44 pm
by Aegis
[QUOTE=Mr.Waesel]It works as thekyngdoms says. You heal after every use of WS.

Aegis: Only if you think healing 2*level in HP is abusable.[/QUOTE]
For a castor class, yeah, I tend to think so, considering they have 2/3 to 1/2 of the hit points of a combat oriented class. Just my thoughts, that's all.

Posted: Wed May 18, 2005 2:53 pm
by Rob-hin
Well, I created my my druid and he is far from a tank.

He is level 7 and has 62 hp. His wildshape, a bear, has 33 hp.
When he WS he gains 14 hp, but only from normal to animal form. In other words, he has to drop to around 20 hp, a bit dangerous.

To be honoust, WS sucks at level 7 as the animals you can pick are not really strong anymore; they were on lower levels. Luckily, level 8 means large animal forms. :D

Posted: Wed May 18, 2005 3:01 pm
by Rudar Dimble
What race did you use for your Druid?
And only 33 hp with WS? That is kinda disappointing indeed :o

Posted: Wed May 18, 2005 5:36 pm
by Aramant
Another question regarding Wild Shape: the description states that the druid may only adopt one form. Is that one form for the duration of the shapechanging event, or does one have to pick a specific animal, which is the only animal he can ever change into?

Posted: Thu May 19, 2005 3:24 am
by Rob-hin
You can change into any animal (but size can be limited) you know, but per change you can only pick one animal.

Posted: Thu May 19, 2005 3:45 am
by Rudar Dimble
I thought you had to have some general knowledge about the animal (seen it or heard about it in a very extensive description)? Or was this just a house rule in my other D&D group?

Posted: Thu May 19, 2005 7:17 am
by Rob-hin
This is easily house ruled.
I'd also rule that a very detailed description is good enough, but argument could state that you would have to seen, toughed or even 'socialised' with it.

Posted: Thu May 19, 2005 8:03 am
by Aramant
The 3.5 Player's Handbook states that the druid must be familiar with the animal he wishes to change into. The example is that a druid who has never left a temperate forest cannot change into a polar bear.

Posted: Thu May 19, 2005 8:53 am
by Rudar Dimble
Yes, that's the rule I was mentioning a couple of posts ago...so it wasn't a house rule after all :p

Posted: Thu May 19, 2005 9:00 am
by Rob-hin
[QUOTE=Aramant]The 3.5 Player's Handbook states that the druid must be familiar with the animal he wishes to change into. The example is that a druid who has never left a temperate forest cannot change into a polar bear.[/QUOTE]

Yes, but define 'familiar with'.
I suppose the correct interpretation could be that you saw one once.