Page 1 of 1

18 INT needed for 9th level spellcasting?

Posted: Wed Oct 19, 2005 9:53 am
by CFM
Quick question:

I understand that a wizard can drink a potion to raise his Intelligence score to 18 or above. Temporaily, this raises the percentage chance that a wizard can learn a spell and add it to his spellbook, and also raises the maximum number of spells that a wizard can have in his spell book.

In AD&D 2nd Edition rules, a wizard needs an 18 Intelligence score to cast 9th level spells. Is this rule implemented in BG2?

To put it another way:

A wizard has an INT score under 18. He quaffs a potion to raise his INT score to 18, to copy a 9th level spell. He memorizes the spell and rests. In the morning, when the potion wears off and his INT score is back to under 18, can he still cast the spell?

The one time I played, Imoen was my only wizardly spellcaster (18 INT).

Posted: Wed Oct 19, 2005 12:29 pm
by Rhûn
Only 18INT can cast lvl9 spells in Bg2, as per AD&D rules.

Posted: Wed Oct 19, 2005 1:03 pm
by FireLighter
Intelligence has nothing to do with the maximum number of spell slots able to memorize in your book. It only has the % chance to write the spell and the number of spells in your book, not spell slots.

Posted: Wed Oct 19, 2005 1:16 pm
by CFM
Many thanks for the responses. I'll make sure my Fighter/Mage has an 18 INT, for those 9th level spells.

My role-playing abilities will be put to the test: my imaginary alter-ego half-elf will be smarter than me.

Posted: Wed Oct 19, 2005 6:25 pm
by Rav
[QUOTE=Rhûn]Only 18INT can cast lvl9 spells in Bg2, as per AD&D rules.[/QUOTE]
I believe this to be incorrect. Imoen casts 9th level spells just fine.

Rav

Posted: Thu Oct 20, 2005 4:56 am
by stramoski
Wow! So many wrong answers!

1st, everyone can cast lvl 9 spells. The drawback associated with lower intel in AD&D was never implemented in BG2. You will need ToB to cast them, though.

2nd, your spellbook size IS limited by your intel, but the check is only done during scribing. So your quaff, record trick will get around that rule.

Posted: Thu Oct 20, 2005 6:54 am
by CFM
[QUOTE=stramoski]Wow! So many wrong answers![/QUOTE]
Even me... I spent all day thinking about what if I didn't dump Aerie in ToB, and she reached higher levels... would Aerie have been able to cast 9th level spells with her under-18 Intelligence... like Imoen and her 18 Intelligence...

Except Imoen's Intelligence is 17 !!!

Yes, Imoen casted 9th level spells for me all thru ToB. I think I was getting her INT mixed up with her DEX. Question answered.

Recap:
a) 18 INT is required to *copy* a 9th level spell into your spellbook.
b) INT determines how many spells per level you can have *in your spellbook* at one time.
c) Temporarily raising INT, via potion, etc, can counter the restrictions of a) & b).
d) Anybody wizardly can *memorize & cast* 9th level spells, even with an INT under 18. Which I should have already known from my adventuring with Imoen.

Thanks again for all the posts! Over and out!

(I finally think I get a reason to start a thread, and it's like I got hit by an Illithiad...)

Posted: Thu Oct 20, 2005 1:00 pm
by FireLighter
[QUOTE=CFM]Recap:
a) 18 INT is required to *copy* a 9th level spell into your spellbook.
b) INT determines how many spells per level you can have *in your spellbook* at one time.
c) Temporarily raising INT, via potion, etc, can counter the restrictions of a) & b).
d) Anybody wizardly can *memorize & cast* 9th level spells, even with an INT under 18. Which I should have already known from my adventuring with Imoen.

Thanks again for all the posts! Over and out!

(I finally think I get a reason to start a thread, and it's like I got hit by an Illithiad...)[/QUOTE]
A) incorrect B) & C) Fine. 18 int is not needed to copy them into your spell book, just to get more of them in there.

FL

Posted: Thu Oct 20, 2005 2:50 pm
by krunchyfrogg
Let's get one thing straight here: INT has NOTHING to do with the level of spells your mage will be able to cast or the number of spells per day he can cast.

It SHOULD, but the AD&D rule was NEVER implemented in the Baldur's Gate system.

You can have a mage with a 9 intelligence play the game just fine. The only difference it will make is the number of spells/level in your spellbook (which is easy to get around with enough potions that increase intelligence, as noted above) and (only at certain difficulty levels) the chance to actually scribe a scroll.

Posted: Fri Oct 21, 2005 3:22 am
by Ravager
INT only affects the number of spell slots given and the maximum number of spells that can be scribed in for each spell level. There is no restriction on casting spells of levels like in games such as NWN.

Posted: Fri Oct 21, 2005 12:09 pm
by Andyr
INT does not affect the number of spell slots you have available.

Firelighter and Stramonski (among others, probably) are correct.

Posted: Fri Oct 21, 2005 12:29 pm
by CFM
[QUOTE=CFM]Recap:
a) 18 INT is required to *copy* a 9th level spell into your spellbook.
b) INT determines how many spells per level you can have *in your spellbook* at one time.
c) Temporarily raising INT, via potion, etc, can counter the restrictions of a) & b).
d) Anybody wizardly can *memorize & cast* 9th level spells, even with an INT under 18. Which I should have already known from my adventuring with Imoen.
.
.
(I finally think I get a reason to start a thread, and it's like I got hit by an Illithiad...)[/QUOTE]
Recap correction understood:

Rule a) is *NOT* implemented in BG.

Which, again, I should already know from my adventuring with Imoen.

(Damn Illithiads)

Posted: Wed Nov 02, 2005 6:39 pm
by JackOfClubs
The rule IS implemented in SoA but is removed in ToB. If you try playing SoA only, Imoen and Nalia will not be able to scribe 9th level spells unless they have their INT modified by a potion or other item. This isn't much of a problem, since SoA does not allow casting of 9th level spells unless you get a level-cap remover, but the effect is definitely there. The restriction goes away in ToB, however.

Posted: Fri Dec 16, 2005 8:05 pm
by Pellinore
Just for evilness sake I imported my ToB mage into SoA and he was able to cast 9th level spells (I took out the gladiator guy in the Copper Coronet with a Comet spell). Maybe the rules change when you have both installed?

Posted: Sat Dec 17, 2005 3:08 pm
by Thrifalas
Why, of cource it does. It's the same thing as with Mirror Image (is that really the name? I'm confused now) copies all showing up next to your character instead of in a long line, and you being able to pick the Wild Mage kit. You just need to have ToB installed, you don't actually need to be there.

Posted: Thu Dec 22, 2005 10:07 am
by Lasher
Somebody mentioned a mage with 9 Int only being not able to cast spells from a scroll... but a mage with under 17 Int would also be missing out on the extra 10% Exp rewarded for having high points in his class' main attribute...

I think this was said in the charisma for sorcerers thread, so....