Page 1 of 1
Questions about Critical and dual-wield
Posted: Fri Jan 12, 2007 7:20 pm
by Shadowshire
I've been studying the manual but can't make out how critical works. I understand (19-20)x2 means that if you roll either 19 or 20 twice you score a critical of damagex2. But mainly the weapon criticals are only shown as say x2...then what do i have to roll to score a critical?
Second question is about dual-wield (two-weapon figthing)
Some say i should use tiny weapons, some say use simple and others that penalties dosen't matter and you should use medium size for highest damagescore. I can't figure out what is best for a melee character without "weapon finess"? Anyone care to give simple advice on the best weapontype (both hands same weapon type) for a dual-figthing strength-based character?
Posted: Fri Jan 12, 2007 7:33 pm
by Siberys
I've been studying the manual but can't make out how critical works. I understand (19-20)x2 means that if you roll either 19 or 20 twice you score a critical of damagex2. But mainly the weapon criticals are only shown as say x2...then what do i have to roll to score a critical?
Two things on that part right there. You don't have to score a 19 or 20 again to critical. Also, it's not an auto critical if you get a 19, you still have to pass the creatures Armor Class with the 19 to get the threat (which is still common enough to happen anyways). But, basically, once you have the threat in tact, meaning your character rolled a 19 or 20 to begin with, then you merely have to hit the creature with the normal attack.
As for Dual wielding and all, for strength based characters go for a double weapon (dire mace, double sword, etc). But for NWN 1 and third edition rules, dual wielding is weird to work with, so right now I'm gonna give you the penalties for weapon types as if you had BOTH ambidexterity and two weapon fighting.
So-
Both feats and the lightest weapons (daggers, kama's, short swords, etc)- -2/-2
Both Feats and one light/one medium- -2/-2
Both feats and two medium weapons- -4/-4
Posted: Sat Jan 13, 2007 2:42 am
by Shadowshire
Ok, get the dual-thing. Thanx
But what about the threat range. In the manual some has none give (ex. scythe just has (x4) instead of greatsword (19-20x2), do that mean that i have to roll 20?
Posted: Sat Jan 13, 2007 2:51 am
by Siberys
Yeah, if it just says x2 or x3, or somethin like that, it simply means that you need a 20 to threat and then beat his AC to confirm.