multiple attacks=multiple targets?
Posted: Tue Jan 29, 2008 8:23 am
Hey All,
I recently had a falling out with my GM in D20 modern about multiple attacks/targets. Basically my char in d20 has 5 attacks, granted the attacks aren't super accurate, +4/+4/+4/-1/-1 but he has the attacks. He took a shot at a zombie, killed it, and apparently because that GM said so, the other 4 attacks are wasted because you can't select multiple targets according to him.
I also play in a DnD group with the same guy, although he is not a GM in this one, and in DnD I'm just a wizard, so I don't get multiple attacks anyway so this doesn't affect me as much here, but his char on the other hand does have something like 4 attacks and he thinks he doesn't get to target multiple enemies unless he has cleave/greater cleave.
I think he's wrong, I know he's the GM so he can pick whatever, but he isn't the GM in the DnD game and I'm hoping to plead my case to the DnD GM so that the two tanks in my group don't get nerf'd from this rule.
Is there somewhere in the DnD rules that says you can target multiple foes if they are in reach with multiple attacks? Or am I wrong and is there a rule that says you can't?
Secondly, it did bring an interesting point up. If a character with, let's say, two attack +7/+2, and cleave/greater cleave uses his first attack on a goblin, the goblin drops. The character would use the extra cleave to attack the next goblin, assuming it's within reach. If the 2nd goblin didn't go down from the bonus attack from cleave, does he still get the +2 second attack? My thought is that he would, because the bonus attack from cleave is just that, a bonus attack. If that is true, and he used his second, normal attack and dropped the goblin, would he then get another bonus cleave attack if there is another enemy within range? Again, I think so, but I'm not totally sure.
I recently had a falling out with my GM in D20 modern about multiple attacks/targets. Basically my char in d20 has 5 attacks, granted the attacks aren't super accurate, +4/+4/+4/-1/-1 but he has the attacks. He took a shot at a zombie, killed it, and apparently because that GM said so, the other 4 attacks are wasted because you can't select multiple targets according to him.
I also play in a DnD group with the same guy, although he is not a GM in this one, and in DnD I'm just a wizard, so I don't get multiple attacks anyway so this doesn't affect me as much here, but his char on the other hand does have something like 4 attacks and he thinks he doesn't get to target multiple enemies unless he has cleave/greater cleave.
I think he's wrong, I know he's the GM so he can pick whatever, but he isn't the GM in the DnD game and I'm hoping to plead my case to the DnD GM so that the two tanks in my group don't get nerf'd from this rule.
Is there somewhere in the DnD rules that says you can target multiple foes if they are in reach with multiple attacks? Or am I wrong and is there a rule that says you can't?
Secondly, it did bring an interesting point up. If a character with, let's say, two attack +7/+2, and cleave/greater cleave uses his first attack on a goblin, the goblin drops. The character would use the extra cleave to attack the next goblin, assuming it's within reach. If the 2nd goblin didn't go down from the bonus attack from cleave, does he still get the +2 second attack? My thought is that he would, because the bonus attack from cleave is just that, a bonus attack. If that is true, and he used his second, normal attack and dropped the goblin, would he then get another bonus cleave attack if there is another enemy within range? Again, I think so, but I'm not totally sure.