construction set help (again)
construction set help (again)
i'm wondering, how exactly would i go about changing what an npc will buy from you? i'm trying to make Meldor in Balmora buy anything from me. another mod i have gave him 75,000 gold (the coloured glass mod) so... how do i change it? i have the construction set open, looked at him and couldn't find anything about what he buys. or how much gold he has, for that matter.
When a few people die, it's a tragedy. When thousands do, it's a statistic.
Select the AI button at the bottom of the character sheet, then select the Services tab.wing wrote:i'm wondering, how exactly would i go about changing what an npc will buy from you? i'm trying to make Meldor in Balmora buy anything from me. another mod i have gave him 75,000 gold (the coloured glass mod) so... how do i change it? i have the construction set open, looked at him and couldn't find anything about what he buys. or how much gold he has, for that matter.
[QUOTE=Darth Gavinius;1096098]Distrbution of games, is becoming a little like Democracy (all about money and control) - in the end choice is an illusion and you have to choose your lesser evil.
And everything is hidden in the fine print.[/QUOTE]
And everything is hidden in the fine print.[/QUOTE]
- Magelord648
- Posts: 1668
- Joined: Fri Feb 10, 2006 1:54 pm
- Location: England
- Contact:
i decided to stop making new threads about this and just put it in here
now i need 2 helps with the cs.
1. i want a script that makes it so that, when this certain book is activated, you can't pick it up, and it makes a few creatures appear at certain coordinates.
2. i'm trying to make that creature as a new one, modeled after an ascended sleeper but better. when i go in there to look for the ascended sleeper texture, though, it's not there. it's there in the ascended sleeper, but that file used there isn't in the file when i browse through for it. where are all of the textures and things?
thanks
now i need 2 helps with the cs.
1. i want a script that makes it so that, when this certain book is activated, you can't pick it up, and it makes a few creatures appear at certain coordinates.
2. i'm trying to make that creature as a new one, modeled after an ascended sleeper but better. when i go in there to look for the ascended sleeper texture, though, it's not there. it's there in the ascended sleeper, but that file used there isn't in the file when i browse through for it. where are all of the textures and things?
thanks
When a few people die, it's a tragedy. When thousands do, it's a statistic.
- Magelord648
- Posts: 1668
- Joined: Fri Feb 10, 2006 1:54 pm
- Location: England
- Contact:
Code: Select all
Begin "Script name"
If ( onactivate == 1 )
Placeatpc "Creature id" count distance rotation
endif
end
[url="http://www.gamebanshee.com/forums/the-elder-scrolls-iii-morrowind-29/tel-uvirith-86692.html"]Uvirith Awakes[/url] - Please leave comments, all help is appreciated.
Regarding the textures, you need to copy the files from your construction set disc to your data files directory.
As far as creature placement, if you know which cells you want them to appear in when constructing the mod then place them in the relevant cell, then disable them in the start-up script, then enable them in a separate script which is called by the book/item/spell.
As far as creature placement, if you know which cells you want them to appear in when constructing the mod then place them in the relevant cell, then disable them in the start-up script, then enable them in a separate script which is called by the book/item/spell.
[QUOTE=Darth Gavinius;1096098]Distrbution of games, is becoming a little like Democracy (all about money and control) - in the end choice is an illusion and you have to choose your lesser evil.
And everything is hidden in the fine print.[/QUOTE]
And everything is hidden in the fine print.[/QUOTE]
okay, so if i understand you correctlygalraen wrote:Regarding the textures, you need to copy the files from your construction set disc to your data files directory.
As far as creature placement, if you know which cells you want them to appear in when constructing the mod then place them in the relevant cell, then disable them in the start-up script, then enable them in a separate script which is called by the book/item/spell.
1. the files are on the disc, not the computer
2. i need to do some super duper scripting where i do something and push the button and then it kills me, right?
When a few people die, it's a tragedy. When thousands do, it's a statistic.
1. Affirmative, on the Construction set disk, not the game diskwing wrote:okay, so if i understand you correctly
1. the files are on the disc, not the computer
2. i need to do some super duper scripting where i do something and push the button and then it kills me, right?
2. Not sure what you mean, check out the script called Startup and you'll find this entry:
;for Mark's Azura thing
"daedroth_az"->Disable
"hunger_az_01"->Disable
"atronach_flame_az"->Disable
"atronach_storm_az"->Disable
"hunger_az_02"->Disable
"ogrim_az"->Disable
Then check out the DaedraAzura script and you'll find:
elseif ( state == 20 )
if ( Player->SayDone == 1 )
Journal "DA_Azura", 10 ;give journal entry
"golden saint_staada"->Enable
"daedroth_az"->Enable
"hunger_az_01"->Enable
"atronach_flame_az"->Enable
"atronach_storm_az"->Enable
"hunger_az_02"->Enable
"ogrim_az"->Enable
set talk to 0
set state to 0
endif
endif
So, in the Startup script the Daedra which have been placed on the island are disabled, i.e they wont be there if the player visits before visiting the Shrine of Azura.
When the player goes to the shrine and touches the statue the DaedraAzura script is activated, which, as well as triggering her speach, also enbables the Daedra on the island.
Get the idea?
[QUOTE=Darth Gavinius;1096098]Distrbution of games, is becoming a little like Democracy (all about money and control) - in the end choice is an illusion and you have to choose your lesser evil.
And everything is hidden in the fine print.[/QUOTE]
And everything is hidden in the fine print.[/QUOTE]
- Magelord648
- Posts: 1668
- Joined: Fri Feb 10, 2006 1:54 pm
- Location: England
- Contact:
The above script will only make a creature appear once. Mine will work every time it's activated. If you want some help PM me. Though Galraen may have more experience in the matter.
[url="http://www.gamebanshee.com/forums/the-elder-scrolls-iii-morrowind-29/tel-uvirith-86692.html"]Uvirith Awakes[/url] - Please leave comments, all help is appreciated.
The problem is that Wing seems to want the creature to appear in a different cell to the one the PC currently occupies.Magelord648 wrote:The above script will only make a creature appear once. Mine will work every time it's activated. If you want some help PM me. Though Galraen may have more experience in the matter.
Do you think this might work?
Begin "Script name"
If ( onactivate == 1 )
Placeatpc "Creature id" count distance rotation
"Creature id"->PositionCell x, y, z, rotation "Cell id"
endif
end
PS OK it doesn't work, the creature has to exist in the game before PositionCell will function
PPS Even if you use a generic creature it doesn't work. I tried with a Storm Atronuch, with and without the PlceatPC, in both cases the game simply moved the firdt instance it found of the creature. I checked this out by COCing to Alas Ancestral tomb after verifying the existence of the SA in the cell I'd chosen, and sure enough the SA was gone.
Back to the drawing board.
[QUOTE=Darth Gavinius;1096098]Distrbution of games, is becoming a little like Democracy (all about money and control) - in the end choice is an illusion and you have to choose your lesser evil.
And everything is hidden in the fine print.[/QUOTE]
And everything is hidden in the fine print.[/QUOTE]
- Magelord648
- Posts: 1668
- Joined: Fri Feb 10, 2006 1:54 pm
- Location: England
- Contact:
I have an idea. Set the creature to respawn. Use the enable script to enable it but when the cell changes disable it again.
I doubt it'll work right. You may need a global variable to replace the ondeath part. The creature should respawn without reappearing. I've not tried this and this version will definitely not work but with some tweaking it should work.
Code: Select all
Begin creatureplacerscript
Short doOnce
if (doOnce == 0 )
if ( onactivate == 1 )
"creature Id"->Enable
set doOnce to 1
endif
endif
if ( doOnce == 1 )
if ( "creature ID"->ondeath == 1 )
; I don't think this bit will work
if ( cellchanged == 1)
"creature Id"->disable
set doOnce to 0
endif
endif
endif
end
[url="http://www.gamebanshee.com/forums/the-elder-scrolls-iii-morrowind-29/tel-uvirith-86692.html"]Uvirith Awakes[/url] - Please leave comments, all help is appreciated.
galraen seems a little off on what i want it to do, but ml is fine. exactly what i want to happen: there are three cave tube type things, about a jumping distance away. the book basically says 'choose quick and jump', when you close the book or take it i want some of those special ancestor ghost things to appear on some rocks floating around the cell to launch spells at the player, forcing them to jump and hope they got the right one. something i thought of just now, is there a way that you could make it so that doors don't show where they go to by you looking at them?
When a few people die, it's a tragedy. When thousands do, it's a statistic.
- Magelord648
- Posts: 1668
- Joined: Fri Feb 10, 2006 1:54 pm
- Location: England
- Contact:
You could have them go to a cell that has an unobvious name such as First tunnel them another door. To the cell you want them to go to.
The command you're looking for is "Creature id"->PositionCell x, y, z, rotation "Cell id".
The command you're looking for is "Creature id"->PositionCell x, y, z, rotation "Cell id".
[url="http://www.gamebanshee.com/forums/the-elder-scrolls-iii-morrowind-29/tel-uvirith-86692.html"]Uvirith Awakes[/url] - Please leave comments, all help is appreciated.
I've tried several ways to find a way to script a repetetive summoning but without success. Possibly it can be done with the script extender, but I don't have that. So the only solution I can think of is the first one I offered, but obviously that only works once. Maybe someone else can come up with an answer.wing wrote:so the script is
"ancestor ghost thing" ->positioncell xcoordinate,ycoordinate,zcoordinate, spinnyness
is that right?
[QUOTE=Darth Gavinius;1096098]Distrbution of games, is becoming a little like Democracy (all about money and control) - in the end choice is an illusion and you have to choose your lesser evil.
And everything is hidden in the fine print.[/QUOTE]
And everything is hidden in the fine print.[/QUOTE]
I missed this post when I made my last reply, sorry about that.wing wrote:galraen seems a little off on what i want it to do, but ml is fine. exactly what i want to happen: there are three cave tube type things, about a jumping distance away. the book basically says 'choose quick and jump', when you close the book or take it i want some of those special ancestor ghost things to appear on some rocks floating around the cell to launch spells at the player, forcing them to jump and hope they got the right one. something i thought of just now, is there a way that you could make it so that doors don't show where they go to by you looking at them?
Now I've got some idea of what you want to achieve it should be straightforward. Give each special ghost a unique ID (Special_Ghost_01, 02 etc), place you special ghosts where you want them. In the Startup script add lines to disable each ghost.
Creat an enabling script such as:
Original text deleted
I think that should sort it, I'll try a test and come back.
OK, I managed to get the effect I believe you want, this is how I did it:
First I created three unique creatures labelled Special_Ancestor_Ghost_01, 02 and 03 and placed them in the cell I chose (Mournhold)
I then created a short global variable called AGState
Next I created this script:
This script I added to the start scripts and then created a second script:Begin SGStartup
if ( AGState < 1 )
"AA_ancestor_ghost_01"->Disable
"AA_ancestor_ghost_02"->Disable
"AA_ancestor_ghost_03"->Disable
endif
end
This script was added to a book, which when picked up could be read, and the ghosts appeared and attacked as soon as the 'take' or 'close' option was selected.Begin AASpecialGhost
short doOnce
if ( menumode == 1 )
return
endif
if ( doOnce == 1 )
Return
endif
if ( OnActivate == 1 )
Activate
"AA_ancestor_ghost_01"->Enable
"AA_ancestor_ghost_02"->Enable
"AA_ancestor_ghost_03"->Enable
StartCombat, Player
Set doOnce to 1
Set AGState to 1
endif
End
[QUOTE=Darth Gavinius;1096098]Distrbution of games, is becoming a little like Democracy (all about money and control) - in the end choice is an illusion and you have to choose your lesser evil.
And everything is hidden in the fine print.[/QUOTE]
And everything is hidden in the fine print.[/QUOTE]
okay, my only question now is, where do i put those scripts? i'm pretty sure the second one goes on the book, but where do i put that first one? and how do i put in the global? (i know prettymuch nothing about scripts and the construction set and all of that stuff)
and just for the record, what exactly is a script extender?
and just for the record, what exactly is a script extender?
When a few people die, it's a tragedy. When thousands do, it's a statistic.
To set a global variable select gameplay in the top menu bar, then select global, then select new, type in the name you want to give the variable (no spaces or special characters)
The script to be run at start up (SGStartup in the example), again select gameplay, then Edit Start Scripts, then Add Script and select (double click) on the desired script.
Script Extender was a mod for developing more complex scripts than are available in the game 'out of the box'; don't worry about it. Best not to use it IMO as some people don't want to use it for some reason, and you don't need it for your purposes I suspect.
The script to be run at start up (SGStartup in the example), again select gameplay, then Edit Start Scripts, then Add Script and select (double click) on the desired script.
Script Extender was a mod for developing more complex scripts than are available in the game 'out of the box'; don't worry about it. Best not to use it IMO as some people don't want to use it for some reason, and you don't need it for your purposes I suspect.
[QUOTE=Darth Gavinius;1096098]Distrbution of games, is becoming a little like Democracy (all about money and control) - in the end choice is an illusion and you have to choose your lesser evil.
And everything is hidden in the fine print.[/QUOTE]
And everything is hidden in the fine print.[/QUOTE]